Table of Contents

    FAQ

    Here are a few common questions that a player might have while playing.

    Can I play with my friend if we are both using villain (or hero) decks?

    • Yes. You can play against anyone, regardless of what affiliation their deck is. You could even use the same characters they are using!

    When one of my characters is about to take damage, do I have to use their shields?

    • Yes, if able.

    Can I redeploy an upgrade to a character who already has the maximum number of upgrades?

    • Yes, but you would have to discard one of the character’s upgrades to make room.

    What is the difference between ranged and melee damage?

    • There is no functional difference. The only difference between the two is the cards that interact with them and that you cannot resolve them as part of the same action.

    Can I use the special ability on an exhausted card?

    • You can use the special ability on an exhausted card, provided the ability does not require you to exhaust the card in order to use it.

    Can I have more than five cards in my hand?

    • Yes. You can have more cards in your hand than your hand size. You would not draw more cards during the upkeep phase, though, if you have more cards in hand than your hand size after discarding.

    Can I discard a Gray upgrade to reduce the cost of a non- Gray upgrade, and vice versa?

    • Yes. You can discard an upgrade of any color to reduce the cost of another upgrade, regardless of its color.

    Do I have to resolve all of my dice of the same symbol at once?

    • No. You resolve only as many dice of one symbol as you wish while taking the Resolve Dice action.

    What happens if I play a support card that has “Action” listed on it?

    • You now have a new action that you can take. You do not resolve the action when you play the card.

    What happens if I want to play a copy of a unique card but my opponent has one in play?

    • Each player can have one copy of a unique card in play (though you can still have two in your deck). So you can play your copy, but once you have a copy of it in play, you cannot play another one.

    If I am using multiples of the same character, do I have to remember which dice came from which character?

    • Yes. Make sure that each character’s dice are positioned in such a way that it is obvious which character they came from. If a character is defeated, its specific dice must be removed from the pool, if they are there.

    What happens if I replace an upgrade with another upgrade that costs fewer resources?

    • You play the new upgrade for free.

    Is a character die any die that the character has?

    • No. A character die is a die that corresponds to the character card. An upgrade is never a character die and is always called out by card text as an upgrade die.

    What is the difference between a turn and a round?

    • A turn is one player’s action. A round consists of an action phase and an upkeep phase.

    Can Rey (@@38) take an additional action if I claim the Imperial Armory (@@169) with her?

    • No. You must pass all future actions once you claim the battlefield, including the additional action that Rey gives you.

    If I resolve Poe Dameron’s (@@29) special to use the special on Black One (@@32), can I roll Black One’s die into the pool even though it says “reroll”?

    • No. The Black One die is not actually in your pool, so you cannot reroll it.

    What happens when an after ability triggers off of a before ability, and there is another after ability in the queue?

    • After abilities enter a queue and wait their turn to resolve. If an after ability triggers during the resolution of any other ability, it will resolve after that ability and any other after ability already in the queue.

    Can I use Cunning (@@65) to trigger discard an opponent’s Thermal Detonator (@@67) or Infantry Grenades (@@17)?

    • Yes. You will deal the damage to an opponent’s characters and then discard the Thermal Detonator or Infantry Grenades.

    Can I use Cunning (@@65) to switch an opponent’s Sith Holocron (@@16) with a card in my hand?

    • No. You cannot have an opponent’s card in your hand or deck. The end result is that the Sith Holocron has no effect.

    Card clarifications

    This section provides you answers about specific cards.

    Abandon All Hope (79)

    • Either option can be chosen, no matter how many resources or cards in hand a player has.

    Ace In The Hole (92)

    • Any special ability on the die can still be resolved as normal.

    • Any non-special ability on the card that the die is associated with does not apply to the die.

    Boundless Ambition (80)

    • You can only draw cards with this until you have cards in your hand equal to your hand size.

    Crime Lord (23)

    • If the character with Crime Lord is defeated after Crime Lord’s ability is triggered, Crime Lord still triggers at the end of the round even if it is no longer in play.

    • Players lose from having no cards in their hand or deck before Crime Lord resolves at the end of the round.

    Count Dooku (9)

    • If a die is spent with a modified die, that is one source of damage and Count Dooku can only gain 1 shield.

    • If two or more non-modified dice are spent during the same action, Dooku could gain a shield for each one, because each die is resolved separately.

    Daring Escape (126)

    • After rerolling the dice, you remove all of your opponent’s dice showing blanks, even if they were not rerolled.

    General Grievous (3)

    • General Grievous steals an upgrade before it can be redeployed.

    Hunker Down (164)

    • If shields block all melee damage that was dealt to a character with Hunker Down attached, then the character did not take any damage and keeps the upgrade.

    Hyperspace Jump (129)

    • Control of the battlefield does not change, even if the battlefield is switched out.

    • The claim ability of the battlefield is not used.

    Let The Wookie Win (130)

    • Either option can be chosen, even if there are fewer than 2 dice in the pool or no exhausted characters.

    Nightsister (12)

    • The Nightsister can reroll a die and then take the final damage to defeat herself.

    Padawan (36)

    • If you replace an upgrade on the Padawan in order to reduce the cost of a new weapon upgrade you are playing, the replaced upgrade stays on the Padawan until the new upgrade enters play. As such, the Padawan’s ability cannot decrease the cost of the new upgrade.

    Poe Dameron (29)

    • During the resolution of Poe’s special, if another special ability is chosen on the card that is discarded, that special fully resolves before the “Then” effect.

    Retreat (110)

    • Control of the battlefield does not change.

    Rey (38)

    • If you play an upgrade with Ambush on Rey, you may take two additional actions during your turn.

    Sith Holocron (16)

    • You can switch cards that say “Blue character only” onto a character that is not Blue.

    • You do not pay any resources for switching to a new card.